I lost my biggest fan

A few weeks ago on Father’s Day (June 15th) my Mother passed away after a 17 year battle with that shit called cancer. It began in her breast and after three bouts had spread, literally, from her brain to her foot. If it weren’t for my Mom there would be no pissed off chimp. She was an artist in her own right. She took blocks of Italian marble and chiseled them into flawless works of art. A friend of mine is doing the Live Strong Challenge on her behalf to raise money for cancer research. If you have some change between your couch cushions feel fee to send it this way… Gail Cook Van Dyke

Here are photos of her work and photos of us.

I love you, Mom.

Nathan

8 Responses to “I lost my biggest fan”

  1. You really do look a lot like Mom, Nathan. I love the way she is always leaning into you. She loved you and she loved the genius in your art. Thank you for all that you’re doing in behalf of Mom. Thank you for being there for me as well.

    Love,

    Dad

  2. I know nothing I say can really help, but I’m so sorry for your loss Nate. After seeing what you do, I know she is proud of you and your work. If there is anything I can do. Please let me know.

  3. You can tell how proud that talented woman is to be your Mom by that big smile on her face.

  4. Your mother was a beautiful person. I can’t tell you how sad I am to hear of her passing…. we met over 20 yrs ago when your mom took stone carving classes with my mother in Italy. She was a dear friend to both of us. As a kid myself back then she was one of the few adults I could talk with easily and openly. She was loving, supportive and kind. And of course very talented. I know how proud she was of you and your achievements as an artist. I miss her very much.

  5. Adam Van Dyke Says:

    Mom’s legacy live’s with in all of us and how we conduct our own lives day by day. She taught us all so much about spiritual strength, holding a solid character, and really doing unto others as we would have them do unto us. She loved her family and friends unconditionally. Her passion in life reflected in her art work as well as in the people that she touched. I miss my mother in so many ways and think about her constantly every day. Her driven spirit drives me to be a better person. I love you Mom. Nathan, you and your friend Phillipe did a great job and we are all proud of you.

  6. I really feel for you & your family Nathan, Just reading what you & some of your family wrote about her truly shows she was a beautiful person..

    I lost my Father to colon cancer 2 years ago, He’d been fighting it for about 6 years. He was my best friend, And has always been my greatest inspiration towards my artwork. Its been rough on the whole family, It hurts that my pops didn’t get to see me & lil’ brother grow past 17 and 14 years old. I know hes looking down on us, watching.. I miss him.

    Its been a rough two years for me, But I’m finally starting to get things together.. I want to make him proud.

    My heart goes out to you & your family, And I wish you all the best.

    -Robert

  7. My condolences on your loss Nate. May your mom rest in peace.

    Keep the amazing art coming.

    Mack

  8. Deep condolence for you nate, same disease that killed my mother as well 😦

    Live Strong Challenge you mention in your blog, how can I go about getting in this?

Leave a Reply

