Wedding Invitation

One of the things about doing freelance art is you NEVER know what you might draw next and this post is a perfect example of that. It’s clearly a huge departure from projects like Jurassic Park. The bride to be is a friend of mine and a bartender at a local bar I frequent. For her invitation she wanted it to be more like a concert poster and less like those typical boring invitations you see all of the time. The groom is from Ireland and his last name translates roughly into “Fox”. She happens to LOVE the book/film “The Fantastic Mr. Fox”  and wanted me to draw the both of them as foxes. I know I draw humanized chimps all of the time but just don’t anthropomorphize animals all of the time. She gave me all of the freedom in the world. I tossed in the map of ireland and a shot of the place where the wedding will take place. I had a great time doing it but I am also glad it’s done. I think I may have to draw some severed heads or something to get some street cred back after this one…

7 Responses to “Wedding Invitation”

  1. Curious Says:

    Hi,

    What is your pen in your video at 6:00 and 6:30 ? Because I don’t find pens like this, and I can’t read her inscriptions in her body. And the first have japan inscription. I don’t think read this.
    And if you have web adress for sell their pens, go it. 🙂
    Thanks and sorry for my bad english. :°

  2. I got the muzak that plays when you open the card…

  3. Glad you put the invite up mUnkee (and so quickly)…very nice…very nice indeed.

    Tell Niall to grow his beard out for me 😉

  4. Oops, almost forgot the dinner choice, thanks…

    I’ll have the salmon, Jan will have the Filet.

  5. Luminous Weddings & Events Says:

    I love this and wondered if you might be interested in doing this for people you don’t know, for pay? If so, what kind of fee would you charge and how much notice would you need? Please respond at luminousweddingsandevents.com
    I am a big fan of your work and would love to be able to offer this sort of thing my clients.
    Thanks!

  6. I am really inspired together with your writing skills and also with the layout
    on your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it
    your self? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to
    look a great weblog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

