Fleetwood and Deville comic

I’ve gotten a little soft on posting on my blog as of late and figured that this was as good a time as any for an art-filled update.

A little while back I was asked to do some comic book style adaptations of this screenplay, Fleetwood and Deville which is written by James Victor Bulian. I sat down and ready through the 100+ page screenplay and loved it! Visuals were jumping off of the page as I read through it. We decided to do some pages from the opening sequence as well as some other character designs. The story has a Boogie Nights meets Starsky and Hutch kinda feel to it. I penciled and inked it and called on my buddy Jay Fotos who colored my work on ’68: Jungle Jim to lend his coloring skills to these pages which he graciously did.

This project is still very much in the works so hopefully I’ll have some good updates down the line. To keep up on this project please check out the Fleetwood and Deville Facebook as well as my Facebook Fan Page.

FIRST OFF… we have a pin-up of the two main characters (Fleetwood is in the foreground).

Here we have a cover treatment. The caddy is as important as the characters in a way. I’m not the best at drawing cars but I had to get them just right for this story.

Here are the comic pages from the opening sequence. I figured I’d show my inks followed by the end result.

Next we have a couple pin-ups of some of the supporting characters. Here is the old, blind black man playing his guitar on his porch. I thought I’d show the thumbnail next to the final so that you could see some of the process.

Following up porch dude is Jesus working on his Chevy. Yes, Jesus is a supporting character in this and a damn good one.

2 Responses to “Fleetwood and Deville comic”

  1. “Following up porch dude is Jesus working on his Chevy. Yes, Jesus is a supporting character in this and a damn good one.”

    NICE Jesus Mechanic particulalry, more BOOBs, muffins and thongs please. Amen.

    • N8 Van Dyke Says:

      Hey Bil, the only piece I’m not showing in this mix is actually one of the guys and a topless girl on the hood of the car. Not showing it simply because the man in charge hasn’t released it so I’m holding off… but it’s there!!!

Leave a Reply

