Random visual goodness

I thought I’d put together another post of random artwork from here and there. It’s the kind of artwork that doesn’t really belong anywhere except with a bunch of other random drawings. So here we have some recent works that were done in my sketchbook, as commissions, portraits, an album cover and so on.

We will begin with some sketchbook pages. A lot of times at night I’ll sit on the couch and doodle while watching TV and these are some of those end results.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Here we have a piece that I started drawing while having diner at an Indian restaurant. The tables are covered with large sheets of paper and as is often the case I end up doodling on it. The food showed up long before I could finish the drawing so I decided to cut it out and take it home to polish off. The paper was terrible quality and the pen I was using was absolute junk but I muscled it all into something fun in the end.

Image

 

Next we have a couple of portraits. Beethoven followed by Thoreau.

Image

 

Image

 

These next two are pretty random. Maybe the most random stuff I’ve posted in a while. I have a habit of seeing things everywhere I look. My overly active imagination can instantly push an image into just about everything I see… even if it’s just a stain on the street.

Image

 

Image

 

This is a commission I did recently for a fellow polar bear lover. This image is based off of an old photo I have that I’ve always wanted to draw and I figured that this was the perfect opportunity to do so.

Image

 

This is an album cover for OtotoxiK which I don’t believe has come out yet. The only art direction he gave me was that he liked some of my ornate skull work so I ran with it and this is where it wound up.

Image

 

Here are a couple examples of pieces I’ve done at the live drawing events here in SF called Sketch Tuesdays which are held once a month at 111 Minna.

Image

Image

 

I’ll round it off with some color pieces. As much as I like ink as an end result there is a part of me that wants to get my Skittles rainbow on as well.

Image

Image

 

Image

 

6 Responses to “Random visual goodness”

  1. nice work n8, really like the street stains!

  2. Great work N8. Have a few ?’s about your pencil sketches!

    What kind of pencil do you usually sketch with? Do you complete the drawings while you’re watching TV or do you come back to them at a later time to detail them? How long does does a typical pencil sketch take?

    • n8vandyke Says:

      Hey Dominic. None of those above sketchy pieces were done in pencil, they are all ink but I can see how they have a pencil vibe to them. For those pieces which you are talking about I was using either a HI-TEC-C 0.3 Pilot pen or a uni-ball Signo bit 0.18. All of them were done in the entirety of watching TV, I didn’t finish them up later. They could take anywhere from an hour to two. Depends what’s on TV and it depends what I’m drawing.

  3. James Heistercamp Says:

    SICK! Loving the Indian takeaway one!

  4. These are amazing! Yea, the Indian Takeaway piece especially!

Leave a Reply

