DMV meets Star Wars

I went to the DMV yesterday to renew my license and while waiting I decided to draw a DMV/Star Wars Cantina mash-up as that is often what it seems like there. I used a Fine Sharpie pen for this sketchbook drawing. I was thinking of coloring it but decided it looks just fine in its raw form. Click on the image to enlarge.

 

DMV_Star_Wars_Cantina

5 Responses to “DMV meets Star Wars”

  1. say, isn’t that kid a Ferengi?? Nerd Taboo!! 😉

  2. First of all I want to say excellent blog!

    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had a hard
    time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or tips? Thank you!

    • n8vandyke Says:

      Thanks a lot, I appreciate it. I consider myself much more an artist than a writer but I think I know what you are getting at. I don’t have the best advice other than just sitting at the table. There are a lot of times I’d rather do anything other than drawing but I find that after about 15 minutes of screwing around I’ll actually be into it. I can procrastinate with the best of them but sometimes you just gotta force it even if it’s not golden. Not everything is.

  3. Great sketch,

    Just a few curious questions:

    1. How big is your sketchbook?
    2. How long did it take to draw?
    3. Even when sketching on the go, like with this piece, did you lay down a rough layout to work out the main bits first?

    I really enjoy your work. Also love the youtube vid of you drawing Dutch. Its always great to see other artists in motion.

    PS. The post where you drew a picture on the back of a generic motel picture frame is a particularly favourite of mine. It should be a new craze… secret graffiti.

    Seb

Leave a Reply

