The Evolution of a Color Piece

I decided with this mixed media piece that I’d take some evolution scans of it since people are always curious about how I go about an illustration like this. Enjoy the show…

Here’s the first stage… thumbnails until I find something I like…

dutch_kill_croc_sketch

 

 

Next up are the pencils after deciding on the sketch I like. This is being done in a 8″x10″ Moleskine sketchbook…

 

 

 

 

moleskine_pencils

 

 

Here we have an ink/marker wash to lay down the foundation colors…

moleskine_underpainting

 

 

After that I lay in some quick inks and muddy up the colors a bit more…

moleskine_inks

 

 

Now for the fun part… finishing it. For the paint-over I use acrylic, gouache, color pencil, spray paint and paint pens…

moleskine_final

One Response to “The Evolution of a Color Piece”

Leave a Reply

