Star Wars/Samurai commission

Here is a Star Wars/Samurai commission I just finished up. I didn’t have a whole lot of creative freedom on this one as the client really knew what he wanted down to all of the poses. I tried not to over-detail it because this is somehow going to turn into a tattoo. My apologies in advance to said tattoo artist…

As an added bonus I’ve also decided I’ll show the sketches leading up to the final art so you can see the sometimes-headache that is the world of revisions.

Here’s the initial thumbnail that I did in my sketchbook. I generally never show these as this is just something I use to get the “art conversation” going for myself. I showed it to the client in order to get his take on the direction and as you will see it changes… drastically… according to what he wants.

Star_Wars_Samurai_tatt_thum

This is my first actual full-size sketch. I don’t mess around sketching in pencil too often but thought it’d help me keep it pretty loose. I was wrong in that assumption. I also decided to draw it on shitty paper for some reason which is why it’s all wavy. That AND I had to Frankenstein some extra paper onto the bottom.

Star_Wars_Samurai_sketch_01

With this next revision you’ll see a dive in detail. From this point forward I’d sketch out the meat and erase/photoshop extra bits for the future revisions. I’m no fan of multiple revisions so I decided to ease up a bit.

Star_Wars_Samurai_sketch_02

Star_Wars_Samurai_sketch_03

Star_Wars_Samurai_sketch_04

And here we have the end result. All inked up and colorblind friendly…

Star_Wars_Samurai_tattoo

4 Responses to “Star Wars/Samurai commission”

  1. I love it! 😀
    What could be better than a Star Wars tattoo? I want one!

  2. […] considering the origins of the actual story and how it was developed….as it had origins in Samurai culture Star Wars was deeply impacted in its inception by Samurai Films. It really brings home the point […]

Leave a comment